The Condor and the Eagle

Join us Sunday, May 31

Join us on Sunday, May 31

As we work to prevent the spread of COVID-19, Indigenous activists across North and South America continue to defend the lands and waters, and to protect their communities from extraction and the pandemic. The climate crisis is not paused while we battle COVID-19, and we must support and learn from those at the front line of the struggle for climate justice.

The Council of Canadians is proud to partner with our friends at Indigenous Climate Action to bring you an online screening of the award-winning documentary The Condor and the Eagle. The film follows four Indigenous leaders embarking on a transcontinental adventure from the Canadian boreal forests to the heart of the Amazon jungle to document the Indigenous struggle to protect the land and water.

Join us on Sunday, May 31, for the online film screening and a lively discussion afterwards, with updates from the front lines of many Indigenous struggles across North and South America.

We will hear from the protagonists of the film, as well as land defenders from Turtle Island, including:

  • Melina Laboucan-Massimo (film protagonist, Cree from Northern Alberta, Co-Founder and Program Director of Indigenous Climate Action, Founder of Sacred Earth Solar, host of TV show Power to the People)
  • Bryan Parras (film protagonist, Xicano who grew up in Houston, Texas, Co-Founder of Texas Environmental Advocacy Services and Sierra Club’s Beyond Dirty Fuels campaign)
  • Helena Gualinga (Indigenous environmental and human right activist from Kichwa Sarayaku Community in Pastaza, Ecuador)
  • Kanahus Manuel (Indigenous activist, birth keeper and a member of the Tiny House Warriors)
  • Molly Wickham (Sleydo’, spokesperson for the Gidimt’en checkpoint on Cas Yikh [Grizzly Bear House] territory)

The online screening is through a sliding scale donation. All funds donated from ticket sales will go towards the Sarayaku community’s flood and COVID-19 relief efforts, as well as the film impact campaign and further Indigenous solidarity work.

1. Make your donation

Join us!

Date: Sunday, May 31, 2020
Time: 2 PM Pacific/ 3 PM Mountain/ 4 PM Central/ 5 PM Eastern/ 6 PM Atlantic
Cost: By donation. Suggested donation is $10-$50. Donate here.

Registration: https://event.webinarjam.com/register/43/mlgylh79

2. Register for the event

The Council of Canadians chapters had planned screenings of The Condor and the Eagle across the country, but had to cancel these events due to COVID-19. We are excited to now be able to share an online screening of this film with you as we learn from and amplify Indigenous activists leading the fight to protect our land and water.

Thank you for your support.

In solidarity,

Vi Bui, Water Campaigner
Chris Kruszewski, Prairies Regional Organizer

The Council of Canadians

Like us on Facebook | Follow us on Twitter | Donate

The Council of Canadians, 200-240 Bank Street, Ottawa, ON, K2P 1X4
1-800-387-7177 | inquiries@canadians.org | canadians.org

Malheureusement, les informations contenues dans ce courriel ne sont pas disponibles en français pour le moment. Pour des renseignement en français sur nos campagnes, veuillez composer le 1-800-387-7177 ou visiter conseildescanadiens.org. Vous pouvez renouveler votre adhésion ici.